RSS Feed

“J” is for Journalling

I’m blogging A to Z in April! Check back often while I catch up!

One of the things I keep intending to start is a travel journal; I haven’t quite got there yet. I’ve got a bad habit of relying on a handful of digital photos and my own memory, but I think I’d appreciate, at some point, having some kind of a written record of the places I’ve seen and experienced. Plus, it would be nice to have a place to actually keep those admission stubs, tickets, site brochures and other minutae that I tend to bring home from any trip.

I think keeping a travel journal is important; it’s a way to recall a time and a place that had some significance to you, and a way to share your adventures with others in the future. It doesn’t have to be a full-length novel – and Amazon has some interesting-looking journals to get you started.

Here’s a cool list of ideas at traveljournaling.com I like a lot of the things they list here, especially the one about “people journalling.” I’ve met an awful lot of people in my travels, and some of them have been quite memorable. There was Dana Starkell, the guy who paddled from Winnipeg to Brazil – I sat next to him on a Greyhound. There was the family we waited in line with once at Disneyworld – the whole family, except for the son-in-law, worked at Disney, while he himself worked at Seaworld. While visiting Colorado, I got to connect with a group of women I’d met online, and meeting them in person was awesome!

The key seems to be journalling WHILE you’re travelling, and I think that’s where my problem is. I always “save” the journalling for later, and then never get around to it. So the next time you’re off on an adventure, no matter how large or small, jot down a few thoughts in the moment. Even if all there is to hand is a napkin; you can always transfer your musings into your regular journal later.

Do you keep a travel journal? Is it online or off? Tell me about it in the comments!

About iwasawriter

Once, I was a writer. And writers, you know, write. I haven't done a whole lot of that lately, especially the basic level put-your-thoughts-on-the-page type writing. So here I am, back to battle the blank page and see if "I was" can become "I am" once more.

3 responses »

  1. Hello! I love journaling; I’ve kept a diary or journal since I was in first grade. So I definitely bring a journal or notebook with me when I’m traveling! I’ll write in it either in the morning, recording the previous day, or at night recording that day. It’s wonderful to have those thoughts and memories! Happy traveling and journaling. 🙂

    Have a lovely week and happy A to Z!!

    Reply
  2. I used to journal a lot when i was younger. I’m trying to get back into it as i think it’ll improve my writing 🙂
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com
    Happy A-Zing!

    Reply
  3. My journal of hiking a long trail became a book North Country Cache. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge blogs this month. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

