RSS Feed

“F” is for Food

Posted on

I’m blogging A to Z in April! Check back every day (except Sundays) for a new post!

Mea culpa. I missed two days and am now playing catch-up – maybe that’s why Sundays aren’t included? They give you a chance to make up for the rest of the week? Regardless…back on track we go.

Food is a HUGE part of travelling anywhere. From the snacks you pack for the car or plane, to the sustenance you require when you get where you’re going, food’s a big deal. For some people, food is one of THE highlights of travelling; new and exotic dishes, local flavours, restaurants that ooze ambience…eating is part of the trip.

Sadly, I am not one of those people. I’m not a particularly adventurous eater, and I usually don’t have a very big appetite. Very often, when forced to choose between eating and doing, I’d rather do – I can always grab a snack later.  When my daughter confessed to frequenting McDonalds while visiting Italy, France and England, I understood completely – I’m always reluctant to spend the time and money that eating well usually takes too.

I do understand that for most travellers, this is not the case. Part of the adventure is sampling local cuisine, enjoying the  dining experience, and, of course, taking pictures of the unique and creative ways that food can be presented in various places. This is know, in Internet terms, as food pRon. (unscramble the letters, it makes sense)

Admittedly, it was on a cruise that I first tasted lobster. Likewise, a chilled banana soup that sticks in my mind 20 years later. And Mexican food in Cozumel was a darn sight better than Taco Bell. And there’s a little place called the Sugar Shack on Highway 11 in Northern Ontario that makes THE best pancakes with maple syrup ever.

What’s the best dish you’ve tasted in your travels? Favourite restaurant? Share your recommendations!

About iwasawriter

Once, I was a writer. And writers, you know, write. I haven't done a whole lot of that lately, especially the basic level put-your-thoughts-on-the-page type writing. So here I am, back to battle the blank page and see if "I was" can become "I am" once more.

2 responses »

  1. The best food I’ve tasted is right here in London, although I’ve traveled and eaten my way around the world many times. Here, we have food from every country, cooked and presented to perfection.

    http://francene-wordstitcher.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. I will try any type of food once, but after that… Great post. It’s okay to need to play catch up!

    Good luck with the challenge!

    Dianna Fielding
    Sociologyfornerds.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

