RSS Feed

Wonder-full places

The Bay of Fundy has not made the short list for the New 7 Wonders of Nature.

It’s too bad; as I’ve been learning this year in Cultural Heritage Tourism, it would have been good for the region – and the country – if we were able to lay claim to a Wonder of the World.

However, Canada is home to 15 UNESCO World Heritage sites – that’s pretty impressive! Looking at the list, I’m sorry to say I’ve only had the privilege of visiting two of them; I’ve seen the Rideau Canal a couple of times, and drove through the Rockies several years ago. It was a lovely afternoon spent wandering in Banff, Alberta. I even got to horseback ride!

Note: If you go to Banff, bring money. Lots of money. Buying a sweatshirt to cope with the unseasonably cold August days that year would have cost more than my entire souvenir budget.

Here are the UNESCO World Heritage Sites Canada can lay claim to:

I’ll have to make it my mission – or one of my goals -to get to more on the list. How many have you visited, and what did you think of them?
About iwasawriter

Once, I was a writer. And writers, you know, write. I haven't done a whole lot of that lately, especially the basic level put-your-thoughts-on-the-page type writing. So here I am, back to battle the blank page and see if "I was" can become "I am" once more.

2 responses »

  1. Great goal indeed! I’ve been to L’Anse aux Meadows, Gros Morne, Banff and Jasper. I enjoyed them all.

    Reply
  2. I have been to 3 or 4 of them
    Wood Buffalo for sure because I lived in it! haha
    The Rocky Mountains
    Lunengurg
    and possibly Waterton, I dont quite remember I was young when I was there lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

